Jenny Hogg. An appreciation.

jenny

Jenny Hogg was a true FCTer.

Most of her life she was with us.

On stage.

Behind the scenes.

Lifting, shifting, pushing, winding (well, winding people up quite often, but always in a good way).

She was a wonderful young woman who was instant friends with everyone she met.

Always a smile, always a chuckle.  One of a kind.  Just Jenny.

So, the news, an hour ago that she has passed away after a long battle with a brain tumour is devastating to me and all who knew her.

But Rene has asked me to share with you that she was at home, as she wanted, with all her family at her bedside.

She has been supported throughout her illness by many of the FCT family which has meant a lot to her, Rene, Alan and David.

Jenny we love you and will miss you desperately.

Rene, Alan, David.  We are all thinking of you and here if you need us.

Love FCT XXX

29 thoughts on “Jenny Hogg. An appreciation.

  1. Such sad news to hear. Thoughts with Rene, Alan and David. Jenny was always good value and great company. Sadly missed. Thanks for sharing lovely tribute above.
    Felix
    x

  2. Happy to give me a welcoming hug and happy to tell me to F@#$ Off! That was the Jenny we all loved, and I will always remember.

    (along with our freezing trip to the Zoo with our Grannys when we were small with rosy red cheeks and soggy sandwiches at the Penguin Pantry!)

    All my love to the Hogg Family X

  3. Such awful and sad news to hear. Jenny’s wit, humour and tech skills will be missed terribly. My thoughts with the Hogg’s. Xx

  4. A great talent which will be sorely missed by everyone, especially FCT.
    My thoughts go out to Alan, Rene, David and all the Hogg family

  5. I had only just learned of Jenny’s battle & now it is over. Alan, Rene & David, I am so sorry for your loss.
    I am sure that your tight family unit has got you through the last few years. Jenny will always be with you. You will
    always be with her.
    Much love to you all. My thoughts are very much with you. Xxxx

  6. So deeply sorry to hear about Jenny’s passing. Rene Alan and the family are in my thoughts and prayers. With love. GillianX

  7. I was truly saddened by the news today. Jen was an amazing girl. Often think of the entertaining nights and fun that was had while I was apparently looking after her all those years ago. My heart goes out to Alan, Rene and David. Thinking of you all. X

  8. It’s been a long time since I (and my mum) worked with Jenny – but it was a privilege to be a part of the Hogg stage-crew family. Catch you back stage later, Jenny –

  9. Deeply sad and sorry to hear this – it’s been a long time since I’ve been involved with FCT, but Jenny was a fantastic person and I’ve got some amazing memories of working with her backstage on Tempo and FCT shows. May she rest in peace and my thoughts are with the Hoggs.

  10. Sad news. I taught Jenny at QMU on the technical course.

    “Death lies on her, like an untimely frost
    Upon the sweetest flower of all the field”

    George Tarbuck

  11. So so sorry. Jenny was a feisty, amazing, and much-loved young woman when I worked with her at FCT so many years ago. Seems from the tributes I read that, wholly unsurprisingly, she continued in the same vein. My thoughts are with Rene, Alan and David, and with all those who had the good fortune to spend time with Jenny more recently than I did.

  12. I am so saddend by this news Jenny was the first person I made friends with when I moved away to Edinburgh I’m search of a career as a stage manager. She was an inspiration and let me join her life for the time we spent together at college. I always seemed to bump into Jenny ok visits back to Edinburgh and we always had a giggle!
    One of those true stars that don’t come along very often. You will be missed
    Thoughts are with Alan, Rene and David
    Xxxx

Leave a Reply

